Monday, March 31, 2014

The Past, The Present and The Future

Hello, friends as some of you may have heard we are at a crossroads here at The Minimal Beat... We have reached the end of our experiment with our blogger page and to be totally honest I never thought it in my wildest dreams it would become what it has! I started this blog about 3 years ago to share music that I like and enjoy and for a place for me to post my radio show that I host weekly on WLUW 88.7FM in Chicago for you guys to listen to. This site would be nothing without all of you guys coming back day after day reading and listing to the stuff we blog about and sharing it with your friends and I really mean that... So with that said, we have decided to break up with Blogger and move on to bigger and better things. In the coming days you will be seeing a brand new designed site linked to with the same format however, we added some really cool new features that I know you guys will really enjoy. We will be monitoring the new site closely and continue to listen to what you guys have to say and do what we have to do to evolve and take the steps that we think we need to take to become the ultimate tastemakers in music... I seriously would not have been able to do this without the help of a few of people that I would like to acknowledge and say thanks you to! You guys have been nothing but supportive and I really enjoy working together and hope to continue to work together in the future... In no particular thanks Randy Nieto, Burlington Bar, Radio One Chicago, Jimmy Giannopoulos, Casey Meehan, Italians Do It Better, Jimmy Kaps, Stina Kaczmaryn, Isidro Hurtado, Ten Club, Chicago Mixtape, Natalie Burris, Lauren Cole, Tom Schraeder, Philip Stone, Danielle Gunn, Reakt, Empty Bottle, WLUW, Charleston Bar, DFA Records, Cimm Fest, Pitchfork and to those who I may have missed I really am sorry... Thank you all soooo much!

Peace and Love, Bill Ocean 

Thursday, March 13, 2014



By; Randy Nieto

The self titled album from the Charlatans was their fourth effort and last record they released before the death of their original keyboardist Rob Collins. This record really shows how much of a key player Rob Collins was in the band, as most of the songs prominently feature leading riffs on the Hammond, Wurlizter, D6, clavinet, and piano. Initially a part of the British psychedelic shoegaze craze of the late 80’s and early 90’s, the Charlatans were now showing musical influences from reggae to gospel, but still managed to keep a Brit Pop guitar sound in league with Blur and Oasis. Tim Burgess’s vocal melodies on the record are infectious, and he hits high notes and falsettos with ease. Martin Blunt bass work is heavy and deep, it’s clear the band was listening to a lot of dub and hip hop around this time. Their subtle blending of different styles with heavy Brit Pop overtones has made this record a favorite among many music lovers. Unfortunately their most excellent drummer Jon Brookes passed away just last year. Check out Nine Acre Court Below (the song starts about 1 minute in).


Thursday, March 6, 2014



  • Cut Copy - We Are Explorers (Larry Gus Remix) - We Are Explorers (Larry Gus Remix)
  • Mother - Easy - Single
  • Beth Orton - Thinking About Tomorrow (IPG Dub Mix) - Thinking About Tomorrow (IPG Dub Mix)
  • Glass Lux - Esther - Single
  • Scratch Massive - Golden Dreams - Nuit de Reve
  • Blood Orange - You're Not Good Enough (Holy Ghost! Bootleg) - You're Not Good Enough (Holy Ghost! Bootleg)
  • Animal Collective - My Girls - Merriweather Post Pavilion
  • Stars - Changes - The Five Ghosts
  • Haim - Forever (Giorgio Moroder Mix) - Forever (Giorgio Moroder Mix)
  • Lana del Rey - Blue Jeans (RAC Remix) - Blue Jeans (RAC Remix)
  • Chikita Violenta - Roni - Tre3s
Guest DJ Rocket Miner
  • Rocket Miner - Gold - Elegy
  • A Place To Bury Strangers - I Lost You - Onwards To The Wall
  • Chromatics - Cherry - After Dark 2
  • M83 - Sitting - M83
  • Crosses - Death Bell - Crosses
  • Tycho - Awake - Awake
  • Whirr - Hide - Pipe Dreams
  • Sonic Youth - Cross The Breeze - Daydream Nation
  • Junius - The Time Of Perfect Virtue - Days Of The Fallen Sun
  • Sigur Ros - Kveikur - Kveikur
  • Rocket Miner - War Room - Elegy


I cant wait until this records is out! Check out the new track from Shit Robot' sophomore LP 'We Got A Love' out 3/18 on DFA Records, featuring vocalist Nancy Whang from LCD Soundsystem.

Saturday, March 1, 2014


New collaboration from Angelina Lucero (Pretty Good Dance Moves) and JoJo Yang who are IDYLL. Listen to the first track “Trouble” off of the debut titled 1, out soon.